From left: Jan Garrett, Kandy Elliott, Sally Rugaber, Ginny Jarrett, Katherine Walker,
Sally Crockett (deceased), Charlotte Porterfield

Founding Board Members

Sally Crockett (deceased) received the Outstanding Philanthropic Award from the Virginia chapter of the National Society of Fundraising Executives. She was a past president of Planned Parenthood of the Blue Ridge, the Junior League of Roanoke Valley, and the Roanoke chapter of the American Red Cross and had served as a board member for several educational institutions, Dominion Bank, the Virginia Center for Creative Arts, and Foundation for Roanoke Valley.

Katherine "Kandy" Elliott is a marketing and public relations professional with work experience on Capitol Hill, in banking, and in health care industries. She has spent more than 25 years of her career overseeing the management of foundation budgets and grant writing. Her civic involvement has included membership on more than 18 local community boards as well as the State Board of Health.

Jan Garrett has served as President of the Junior League of Roanoke Valley, Board Chairman of the Council of Community Services and Foundation for Roanoke Valley, and President of the Community Youth Program. A past member of the Governor's Information and Referral Services Board, she has also served on the Board of Directors of Family Service of Roanoke Valley, and Kimoyo, Ltd.

Ginny Jarrett has been a financial consultant for more than 25 years. She is Senior Vice President with Davenport & Company. A past president of several local boards including the Community Youth Program, the YWCA of Roanoke Valley and the Junior League of Roanoke Valley, she has also served as Treasurer and a board member of the Association of Junior Leagues International.

Charlotte Porterfield is a past board chair of the Child Health Investment Partnership (CHIP), Planned Parenthood of the Blue Ridge and The Roanoke Council of Community Services. She is a former member of the board of Foundation of the Roanoke Valley and currently serves on the Hollins University Board of Trustees.

Sally Rugaber, a former newspaper reporter, has been a member of numerous nonprofit boards, both in cultural and human services fields. Sally is vice president of the board of Floyd’s Jacksonville Center for the Arts and is an active fundraiser there. She has served on boards and committees of The Arts Council of the Blue Ridge, Family Service of Roanoke Valley, and Literacy Volunteers of Roanoke Valley.

Katherine Walker As the founding director of the Batten Leadership Institute (BLI) at Hollins University, Katherine Walker developed and implemented the core curriculum for BLI's undergraduate and professional women's programs. She also actively engages in the arts and community building in Roanoke, Virginia. Katherine has served on a number of non-profit boards and currently serves as a founding board member of the Roanoke Cultural Endowment.

RWF occasionally uses photos of people and groups on the website and in publications.  Those objecting to the use of their photos should so inform the RWF.

Copyright © 2017 The Roanoke Women's Foundation. All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software